Skip to main content


Amy Bannerman

Family & Community Worker

Family and Children's Services of Waterloo Region

Job Description

I have the best job! I am a Family and Community Worker with Family and Children Services of the Waterloo Region. I started there as a placement student in 2003, in their group home system. Over the years, and as the system has changed, I have been able to transition into the role that I currently have working with children, youth, and their families. I provide individualized support to parents and children in their homes- as well as to help them to connect with supports and services in their communities. As part of my role, I am also a trained facilitator of some parenting programs such as, Connect, Circle of Security and Make the Connection…..and sometimes I get to run groups for youth. I say I have the best job ever, because I am one worker that is a part of a team that is dedicated to supporting the family…it looks different every day, depending on what the needs of the family are and how I can support them best.

Relevant School Subjects

  • English
  • Guidance and Career Education
  • Social Sciences and Humanities

Areas of Expertise

  • Childcare
  • Personal/Other Services
  • Social Work/Counselling

Career Story

While in high-school and working at my part-time job waitressing, I began my volunteer work, trying to gain some experience using skills that I would need as I pursued my education as a social service worker. After high-school I was accepted to Conestoga College in the Social Service Worker program. I attended that 2 year program and had placements with some of the community organizations that I work with today.

After I completed the Social Service Worker Program and I also attended a one month in-depth program of placement with Family and Children Services. It was called the Protection Support Worker Institute Program and it was really geared to the role that I now have, which was previously called a Protection Support Worker.

Following my placement at Family and Children Services, I was hired on as a Direct Care Worker in their group home system. Although that system is no longer being utilized, I was able to the apply for and move into the role that I have today as a Family and Community Worker. My role, as part of a team is to provide support to the family that is individualized to their need, and to help connect them to supports and resources in their community. As part of that role, I have also had the privilege of attending a number of training/education programs, and am now a trained facilitator of the Circle of Security program, Connect, Make the Connection, as well as a number of other groups that we offer at Family and Children Services.

Back to top

We use cookies to make interactions with our website and services easy and meaningful, to better understand how they are used and to tailor advertising. By using our website or clicking "accept", you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy.